Wilckodontics on Monday....here we go!!!

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

dantocanada

Wilckodontics on Monday....here we go!!!

#1 Post by dantocanada »

For those of you who have read some of my earlier posts, you may remember that I am a 40 year old professional male from Toronto, Canada, who has recently lost 125 lbs and decided to get my teeth fixed as part of my “extreme makeover” project. So the first, and arguably the easiest phase of my journey is coming to an end. I had lower ceramic braces installed back on July 21st. So I am almost at the 5 month mark, and to be honest, it has been pretty easy going and I’m very pleased with the results. Very little pain, and barely anyone has actually even noticed that I have them.

Unfortunately, tomorrow morning at 9:30 begins phase 2 – the hard part. This is the part that I have been dreading since I made the decision to take this journey last spring. That is when I get my upper brackets installed ahead of Wilckodontics surgery (AOO – Accelerated Osteogenic Orthodontics) on my upper arch first thing Monday morning. About a month after my surgery, I will have a Palate Expander placed to widen my upper jaw, which I’m told will be in for about 6 months. If all goes well, after about 30 days of expansion (so mid-February), they will install my top archwire and through the magic of Wilckodontics, by December of 2015, I will be all done! What was once a very crowded narrow smile with major crossbites on both sides will be a beautiful, normal smile. Or so they say!