Ever feel like giving up

This is the place to post general questions and comments about all areas of orthodontic treatment. Before you post a question, use the forum's SEARCH tool to see if your question has already been answered!

New Members: YOU MUST MAKE A POST WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REGISTERING OR YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED. In other words, don't sign up unless you plan to actively participate in the message board immediately. This is necessary to keep out spammers and lurkers with bad intentions. Of course, you can read most forums on the board without registering.

DO NOT POST FULL-FACE PHOTOS or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

johnnyboy519

Ever feel like giving up

#1 Post by johnnyboy519 »

Hi guys im new to archwired..I have had my braces on for around a month now and i really feel like i just want them off..I was told it will take approx. 18 months to complete and i just feel like i won't be able to handle these things in my mouth for that long.. :cry:

JoeMama

#2 Post by JoeMama »

Yes - And I'm really glad you brought this up. I have that thought occasionally (ok, a lot). I get really upset about all the metal in my mouth, attached to my teeth. I can usually talk myself out of it, and using this message board seems to help too. Sometimes it helps me to be more positive for myself by being positive for other people. Does that make sense? And I'm inspired by those here who seem to have such a healthy attitude. But I hear you about the 18 months! And being at the beginning of it is tough.
Damon 3s. On 2/15/2006. Off 2/21/2007!
Essix on uppers, Hawley on lowers.

fins

#3 Post by fins »

It's very difficult to hang in there but once you pass the halfway mark things get a little easier.

pucca26

#4 Post by pucca26 »