Please tell me this is normal!! I need help...I'm a newbie.

This is the place to post general questions and comments about all areas of orthodontic treatment. Before you post a question, use the forum's SEARCH tool to see if your question has already been answered!

New Members: YOU MUST MAKE A POST WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REGISTERING OR YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED. In other words, don't sign up unless you plan to actively participate in the message board immediately. This is necessary to keep out spammers and lurkers with bad intentions. Of course, you can read most forums on the board without registering.

DO NOT POST FULL-FACE PHOTOS or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Cristie

Please tell me this is normal!! I need help...I'm a newbie.

#1 Post by Cristie »

I just got braced yesterday morning and at first I had no pain at all. Well, last night the pain started and it feels like someone hit me with a baseball bat right in the mouth. I'm so sore and I'm taking tylenol, but it doesn't seem like it's working. Is this normal? Please tell me this will go away soon. If they tylenol doesn't work will my ortho prescribe me something stronger? It's 3:30 am right now and I can't sleep. I'm just hoping this pain goes away soon, it feels like pressure in all my braced teeth. Right now I feel like this.. :-((

Saki

#2 Post by Saki »

Hi, that sounds horrible, I'm so sorry you're in such pain. I'm not braced yet so I don't know if it's normal, but I remember seeing on the Braces FAQ on the main Archwired site that Lynn (the site owner) said that for her it felt like she'd been hit in the teeth with a baseball bat too. Have a look under 'How braces feel'.