total newbie (to the forum, not to braces!)

This is the place to post general questions and comments about all areas of orthodontic treatment. Before you post a question, use the forum's SEARCH tool to see if your question has already been answered!

New Members: YOU MUST MAKE A POST WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REGISTERING OR YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED. In other words, don't sign up unless you plan to actively participate in the message board immediately. This is necessary to keep out spammers and lurkers with bad intentions. Of course, you can read most forums on the board without registering.

DO NOT POST FULL-FACE PHOTOS or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

bunnyfluff

total newbie (to the forum, not to braces!)

#1 Post by bunnyfluff »

I'm new, and while still young (I got my braces on a month before I turned 17...i'm midway through 19 right now) I am one of the older patients at my ortho's office. Most of them range between 8 (no joke!) and 15.

Alrighty, so I did learn yesterday that my braces will in fact be TAKEN OFF!!!! WOOT! on January 4th. It's about damn time! :D

Just as a backstory: I got them on May 12, 2004. I've had many instances where they've said "Ooooh almost done!" and apparently "almost" to the ortho translates into about 10 months. Yikes. I just have a question. I have noticed that when I smile, my lips have a hard time stretching over my mouth. It makes my smile look...lopsided.

This is pretty much what my smile looks like most of the time.

However, sometimes it's in rare form and looks FAB. As in this picture.

(sorry the pictures are kind of grainy)