Braces off early....

This is the place to post general questions and comments about all areas of orthodontic treatment. Before you post a question, use the forum's SEARCH tool to see if your question has already been answered!

New Members: YOU MUST MAKE A POST WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REGISTERING OR YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED. In other words, don't sign up unless you plan to actively participate in the message board immediately. This is necessary to keep out spammers and lurkers with bad intentions. Of course, you can read most forums on the board without registering.

DO NOT POST FULL-FACE PHOTOS or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

newmetal

Braces off early....

#1 Post by newmetal »

Im doing teaching as a degree course and i am in my second year. I am on placement in a school at the moment and get assessed daily by an outside examiner and today i was told something interesting. The person assessing me told me that this year i would be fine teaching with braces but due to the criteria in my final year (next academic year) placement, my braces will be a problem. Communication is analysed to the max and a slip up on a word or a word projected muffled can cost me my degree. The assesor told me that certain words although clear, due to the brace, can seem mumbled. He kept stressing that this is only a precaution but could cost me my next placement. Knowing this, im going to consider getting these braces off next september (begining of my final year), i want straight teeth but i also want to get my degree. Maybe i can have a gap in treatment for a year and start it up again when im qualified? Has anyone done this? Will my teeth be straight by then, id have been in them for a year?