Quad Helix... Please Help!

This is the place to post general questions and comments about all areas of orthodontic treatment. Before you post a question, use the forum's SEARCH tool to see if your question has already been answered!

New Members: YOU MUST MAKE A POST WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REGISTERING OR YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED. In other words, don't sign up unless you plan to actively participate in the message board immediately. This is necessary to keep out spammers and lurkers with bad intentions. Of course, you can read most forums on the board without registering.

DO NOT POST FULL-FACE PHOTOS or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

ash0708

Quad Helix... Please Help!

#1 Post by ash0708 »

Hi all,

I am a newbie and I just recently received upper and lower Damon braces (4-5-07) and received my quad helix last Thursday (4-12). I am having so many problems with it! It has been 4 days and my tongue is torn up and I still can't swallow. I also have geographic tongue, and I think the quad helix is irritating me more than it would others. In fact, today is the fourth day and it has been the worst of all. I woke up with a bleeding tongue.

What should I do? Do you think I should call my ortho? I am really concerned.

Thanks,
Ashley

SDFD TSchott

#2 Post by SDFD TSchott »

I'm sure there will be more responces later but this is the one I think I would do. I would start Salt-water treatments at least 2-3 times a day to help heal the irratated spot along with toughen up the mouth.

~Tim~

Adjustment Sept 14th, 2018
Braces back on August 06, 2018
Braces off April 02, 2008

ash0708

#3 Post by ash0708 »