Transpalatal Arch Device Torture (desperate!)

This is the place to post general questions and comments about all areas of orthodontic treatment. Before you post a question, use the forum's SEARCH tool to see if your question has already been answered!

New Members: YOU MUST MAKE A POST WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REGISTERING OR YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED. In other words, don't sign up unless you plan to actively participate in the message board immediately. This is necessary to keep out spammers and lurkers with bad intentions. Of course, you can read most forums on the board without registering.

DO NOT POST FULL-FACE PHOTOS or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

rafs

Transpalatal Arch Device Torture (desperate!)

#1 Post by rafs »

Hello:

I am new to the forum, first post, have been reading it for a few days.

This is my 2nd go around at braces, i had them for a very brief and painless period when i was a teenager to correct a problem with my 2 front teeth, and I am 34 now. This time it's to correct something in my bite which is causing me to clinch my teeth too much and thus break and erode.

So I got braces about 6 weeks ago and it was going alright, some discomfort and a protruding wire but i was generally handling it. Then on thursday my ortho put on this TPA thing and it's driving me insane. I don't know how i will be able to handle this for 3 months. My tongue hurts like nothing has ever hurt before and swallowing is very difficult. I'm taking saltwater, pain pills and that spray to mitigate the pain and all of them work for a couple of hours and then it wears off and the pain comes back.