sore tongue?!?

This is the place to post general questions and comments about all areas of orthodontic treatment. Before you post a question, use the forum's SEARCH tool to see if your question has already been answered!

New Members: YOU MUST MAKE A POST WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REGISTERING OR YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED. In other words, don't sign up unless you plan to actively participate in the message board immediately. This is necessary to keep out spammers and lurkers with bad intentions. Of course, you can read most forums on the board without registering.

DO NOT POST FULL-FACE PHOTOS or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

3n1believer

sore tongue?!?

#1 Post by 3n1believer »

Ouch! I'm new to my braces and am almost ready to throw in the towel!

I got my braces (both uppers and lowers) put on last Saturday (21st) and I'm ready to call the dentist to take them off. Is it normal for my mouth to still hurt??? I can't eat nonsoft food yet and I have sores all over my cheeks. I use wax at night, but then in the morning my cheeks feel like prunes--It feels awful!

The worst part is that my tongue is swollen and cut on both sides where they hit the bands (if that's what they are called--the silver brackets attached to bands that anchor the braces). It even makes the mushing process I've been using to eat very hard to do.

The even worse part is that braces have turned me into the BIGGEST whiner! I usually handle pain and discomfort pretty well, but I just want to cry and complain to everyone. I feel terrible doing it, as I've been telling my loved ones just how much "I've always wanted straight teeth" but I'm hating reality! When oh when does this get better???

Thanks,
the biggest baby around

Ceramic uppers and lowers