How do people come up with the money (just curious)?

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Ang777

How do people come up with the money (just curious)?

#1 Post by Ang777 »

Hi,
As I slowly but surely try to save money from work (did I mention slowly?) I am wondering how you guys get the money for surgery+braces+hospital (for those whose insurance doesn't cover a lot). Do you take out a personal loan? Do you use a credit card? Do you use Care-credit? Do your parents or spouses, etc give you money? Or do you make so much it's no big deal? The reason I'm so curious is because I feel sort of alone in the process of saving every penny for something that seems so out of reach at this point -- unless something (or I) changes for the better/wiser financially. What I do for a living does not pay "well" but I do it because I enjoy it. I wonder sometimes if it's worth "selling out" and getting a better paying job doing something I don't want to do, just to make more money to speed up this process. I don't want to make payments on debt if I can help it. I'm just really curious how others handle the financial strain.
Thanks,
Ang

CaliforniaKid

Re: How do people come up with the money (just curious)?

#2 Post by CaliforniaKid »

selling your body. :lol:

if you are student you can probably swing some of the money from student loans towards the surgery. if you own a home, consider refinancing - interest rates are rather low these days. sell belongings...you'd be surprised how much you can get from craigslist. x-box, t.v..

medical loans are hard to come by, especially if your credit is mediocre. interest rates are insane as well. but if this something very important to you, id take every opportunity - even if means going into debt. at least that's how i felt.