Underbite Surgery: April 17

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

arianna

Underbite Surgery: April 17

#1 Post by arianna »

Hi everyone,
I've been lurking (very obsessively) for quite a while and finally decided to post.
I'm having jaw surgery to correct my underbite in exactly a week, on April 17th. I haven't had my pre-op appointments yet (I'm studying out of town) so I don't know the name of the surgery, but my surgeon thought he would move my upper jaw forward. I hope that original plan sticks since I understand that recovery from a single jaw surgery is easier? I begin a new job on April 30th, 12 days post-op. I've heard of recovery times that range anywhere from 1 week to 6 weeks, but I think my surgeon said I should be ready for work sometime between 10 days and two weeks post op. At least... I hope that's what he said.

I don't have pictures to post, but for some reference... My underbite is not very pronounced, my teeth are basically edge-on-edge instead of the upper teeth falling in front of the lower ones. When I first got braces there were huge spaces between my upper and lower molars, which made it really hard to chew anything properly.. Those have been shrinking for the past 5 months or so, which is great, and makes me look forward to my post-op bite even more!

I have a few questions:
I heard that ibuprofen in the week before surgery is not advised... Is this true or just a rumour?
I've been taking vitamin C and a multivitamin, eating well and exercising a lot... Is there anything else I should do to set myself up for a quick recovery?
Haha I've also been eating a lot of foods that I know will be off-limits after the surgery. Do you have ideas for some specific foods I should stock up on for when I get home? I'm not ordering zip-n-squeeze bags... Anyone have a success story that doesn't involve using these? If I have some thin plastic cups to drink out of will I be able to get by?