Bimax post op with photo's

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

StevenAko

Bimax post op with photo's

#1 Post by StevenAko »

Hi, first of all my name is steve and i'd like to say thanks to everyone who has posted on this board many weeks post op. ive been reading away without posting for a few weeks now, its been a great help.

so i thought i had better try contribute to some extent. Im a 3rd year dental student so hopefully in quite a unique possition to help a few people.

I am 2 weeks post op. i had my mandible advanced 13mm (apparently as far as possible in one op) and my maxiller moved forward 8mm and up 7mm so all pretty major. i been wired completely closed with the splint in place for 2 weeks untill this morning and am now on the elastic guide bands
Last edited by StevenAko on Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Eeegsy

#2 Post by Eeegsy »

Welcome :) Hope things are all fine and dandy!

I'm from Staffordshire, and have been in tight bands for 5 weeks. One more to go! I've had upper moved forward, lower backwards as well as genio. And corrections for assymetry. But all is well.

I find it strange how some people in certain areas can go 6 weeks in tights, whilst some only go 1-2 weeks... I guess it's just what each surgeon practices.

StevenAko

#3 Post by StevenAko »

yeah apparently in america they hardly tight band at all. to be honest i didnt mind it. when you have gone through a lot to get this far its worth putting up with that extra bit of discomfort to get a good, stable result.

its strange when they com eoff though, my jaw feels strong enough to chew soft food but my main problem is opening my mouth wide enough to get any in there!

Eeegsy

#4 Post by Eeegsy »