tmj and surgery

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

trw2

tmj and surgery

#1 Post by trw2 »

Hello i am new to this site and am looking for opinions about getting surgery for tmj.Iwould like to hear from other to see if they regret having surgery.I was told that I should have upper jaw surgery then braces . I dont mind the idea of braces but really dont want the surgery or the expander. the expander looks way too hard to deal with thank for any input

phil

#2 Post by phil »

I'm no expert, but everything I've read says that orthognathic surgery for TMJ should be a last resort, after all other avenues have been exhausted. Often, it does nothing to eliminate symptoms.

Does your orthodontist specialize in TMJ? If not, you might want to get a second opinion.

Again, I'm not an expert, just a layperson, and am relaying what I've read in general. Best of luck to you!
There are no ordinary moments.
Check out my blog! http://pcadams.wordpress.com/

iBorg

#3 Post by iBorg »

I'm awaiting surgery and I'm not sure surgery will eliminate my TMJ problems. I do know when talking to other orthos offices, two others did not want to even see me when I mentioned TMJ issues. My orhto toldme that treatment would not eliminate the problem but rather reduce the pain from an 8 or 9 to a 3 or 4. In moving my teeth so that my overbite is closer to a "natural" position I'm not grinding as much and therefore my TMJ is not as aggravated as it is. Due to previous ortho work, my teeth were close enough I'd sub consciously strain to have correct teeth alignment, which strained my TMJ. Of course without surgery I now have about a 5mm overbite and a class two molar relationship but my TMJ has gone from out of control to easily controlled.

Mike
I wore braces (this time) for 1294 days or 3 years, 6 months and 17 days.
But who's counting?
Jaw Surgery June 1, 2009
Thanks for praying for me and thinking happy thoughts.

Emaciated