Anyone who has had surgery on NHS

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Kessler

Anyone who has had surgery on NHS

#1 Post by Kessler »

Hi,

I was hoping somebody could help me out. I was wondering what the process is to try to get jaw surgery on the NHS?

I'm in my 20s. I have an underbite (currently made worse by extractions and other orthodontic treatment carried out privately) and have had plans to have the surgery later on privately. I'm quite new to the UK and was not aware that apparently so many people can have this surgery on the NHS. As far as I was told it was for younger people. Do you think it's realistic that I may be able to get surgery for my underbite on the NHS? And if so, how long would that entire process take (considering my orthodontic work is being done privately).

I've read different information like you need an underbite of 3.5mm to qualify for surgery, some say 7mm. I would love to hear from anyone who has had surgery on the NHS and how they qualified?

Thanks for any help.

midnight

Re: Anyone who has had surgery on NHS

#2 Post by midnight »

Adult orthodontics on the NHS isn't very common. A lot will depend on the area you are in. The hospitals where I had my surgery and all surrounding areas would only consider those people with problems that fitted into grade 5 on the IOTN - http://www.bos.org.uk/orthodonticsandyo ... whatisiotn I don't think even this is a guarantee that you will get the surgery though, a lot will depend on the individual and the reasons that it's required.

I don't know how it would work with orthodontics being done privately and surgery on the NHS. Both of mine were on the NHS. It would be worth asking your orthodontist and seeing if they can refer you to the orthognatic surgeon to discuss it as only they would be able to say whether you were a candidate.