So excited to meet another BSSO person!

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Brandyleigh35

So excited to meet another BSSO person!

#1 Post by Brandyleigh35 »

I went to a counselor's meeting yesterday (I work as an elementary school counselor) and one of the other counselors is going in for a BSSO on her lower jaw (just like me) in June. The best part is that we are both seeing the same surgeon.

Her case is similar to mine, but she has TMJ issues as opposed to my sleep apnea stuff. She had a small palate and they wanted to do the SARPE procedure. She wasn't comfortable with it so they used the invisalign to move her teeth out and get the space. Now she will be having the surgery in June. I have to say that her teeth look awful. Like they are rotated out, and it just looks bad! I will be interested to see how her surgery goes, since our doctors are the same. She has said she will keep me posted. Her surgery date is for June, and mine isn't until May 2007.

What is really cool, is that I'm doing the SARPE, and full braces, then the surgery. I will be interested to see whose smile comes out looking better. After seeing what they have done to her with invisalign and no palate expansion, I'm so so so glad I'm going the SARPE and braces route now. I'm even more convinced that it will be worth it now and my smile will be beautiful when its all done.

Brandy

Ga_N8V

#2 Post by Ga_N8V »

I'm with ya Brandy ... doing full braces, LeFort I (3 pieces) for the upper jaw, BSSO for the lower jaw, and genio for the chin. I've been in the braces for about 14 months now and the Ortho is estimating another 3 1/2 months before the teeth will be in final position so the surgery can take place.

The surgeon said I'd either end up looking like Brad Pitt or Rodney Dangerfield ... personally, I'm hoping for Rodney because, let's face it, looking like Brad Pitt would just be too much pressure!

gstephen