Bunch of Questions im new with invisalign

Discussions about treatment with invisible braces that use clear aligners, such as Invisalign, OrthoClear, the Red White and Blue system, etc.

Moderator: bbsadmin

johnnysurefire

#1 Post by johnnysurefire »

Did anyone cheat a little and eat things like yogurt or drink things through a straw and end up having good results?

Anyone have there's not work and mid treatment get switched to traditional braces, my ortho said this is always a possibility?

Anyones treatment take less than expected?

amber10101

#2 Post by amber10101 »

Hey there,

I'm just about a month into treatment.

On occasion, while I'm making dinner, I'll drink something other than water. Juice or soda. That said, I only have the aligners in for less than half an hour when doing this and then I take 'em out for eating so they get cleaned up right away and my teeth are not sitting in acid and sugar for long.

I'd not suggest eating or drinking with them in unless you plan to clean up pretty much right away.

Some people will tell ya it's not a big deal to have a drink with them in - it's your call. I'd say if you are prone to having cavities or dental problems, don't do it!

I can't answer your other questions as I don't have experience with that.

All the best to you!

andrea26

#3 Post by andrea26 »

My dentist told me to drink anything with the trays in. He said he has done that himself and that most important is to have them in for as long as possible. So i drink everything with my trays in, even coffee, obviously i let it cool down first and rinse my mouth out afterwards.
My trays dont stain. I havent tried eating food with them though.

Wireless

#4 Post by Wireless »

I'll confess to beer and white wine. I usually try to get my aligners out within an hour to rinse them out along with my mouth. It is hard drink only water 21 to 22 hrs / day. The worst thing I have done was a chocolate milkshake - strongly not recommended!!