When is enough enough??

Discussions about treatment with invisible braces that use clear aligners, such as Invisalign, OrthoClear, the Red White and Blue system, etc.

Moderator: bbsadmin

cazzie

When is enough enough??

#1 Post by cazzie »

Hi

I have been using Invisalign since Nov 2007 and originally had 17L and 40U. I posted on here a few months back that my treatment went off track in Dec of last year and i had to go and have refinements made in early Jan, I eventually received my new sets of aligners and had 6L and 8U. I am currently in set 4U/L and due to see the dentist next week. My question is that i am having real trouble getting my lateral incisor to move, it was really tipped back at the beginning of treatment and although it has moved significantly it never seems to fit the aligner correctly, there is always a slight gap. I just wondered if anyone had any experience of when to say that maybe the aligners wont perform the movement your teeth require and maybe think about conventional braces? Will Invisalign provide more than one set of 'refiner aligners'? is it a case of they will just continue to make them until you are finally happy or do they say 'this is as good as it gets'. Also obviously getting worried about price seen as this has cost so much already and i may have to face paying out more? Has anyone got any experience of these issues?

John37

#2 Post by John37 »

The only comment I can make is that one of my upper lateral incisors had to rotate a lot and it ended up moving up (intruding) instead of rotating completely. With my refinements, they put an attachment on it and that has helped keep it moving the way it's supposed to move.

Do you have an attachment on that tooth? If not, you should ask about that and make sure you point out that that is a concern of yours.

Wobblydeb

#3 Post by Wobblydeb »

Sorry to hijack the thread, but what shape attachment have they given you on that incisor John?