Braces for the first time..at 29

Introduce yourself, say a few words, show us your website, etc. Include detailed personal information at your own risk. This board takes no responsibility for contact that results from you posting your personal information. Fetish postings, and detailed information regarding readers under age 18 will be removed promptly.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Bracy

Braces for the first time..at 29

#1 Post by Bracy »

Hi everybody, i wanted to introduce myself. I just got my braces 2 days ago and found this forum looking for people who are going through the same. When I was a kid the dentist told my mum that one of the upper teeth needs to be extracted in order to make room. My mum declined as she didn't think that it was a good idea to "pull a healthy tooth". (Granted i would have thrown a total fit hearing that a tooth needs to be pulled 8) :lol: ) Anyway, looking back i wish that would have all happend when i was little, so i wouldn't have to deal with this now.

I wasn't happy with my smile for a long time already, and avoided pictures or kept my mouth shut. If there was one thing about myself that i wanted to change it were my teeth, especially this one upper one that kind of sticks out due to overcrowding. I already thought about it for a while, but had to have a lot of dental work done first, so i spent the last year getting everything fixed and finally I was ready to focus on braces again. I was excited about fixing my overcrowding problem.

On monday i got my upper and lower braces and spacers. The upper braces are clear and the lower ones are the stainless-steel ones. Other than the crowding, i have a cross-bite on the left and an open bite. One of the premolars on my upper left will be extracted in the coming weeks. The orthodontist recommended getting the braces on for now to get everything moving, so that it will be easier to extract the tooth.