Braces at 33? Newbie needing advice/opinions!

Introduce yourself, say a few words, show us your website, etc. Include detailed personal information at your own risk. This board takes no responsibility for contact that results from you posting your personal information. Fetish postings, and detailed information regarding readers under age 18 will be removed promptly.

Moderator: bbsadmin

bibliogirl

Braces at 33? Newbie needing advice/opinions!

#1 Post by bibliogirl »

Hello, everyone. I just discovered this message board and wanted to join because getting braces is something I've always thought about doing. I'm a 33 year old teacher and part-time mature student, living with my boyfriend who is also going back to school at the age of 37. Since we're both at a crossroads in our lives, obviously cash flow is the main barrier right now to getting braces. Still, I am thinking about it for the future.

My teeth have a lot of crowding on top (the two on either side of my upper front teeth jut out from my gums and are rotated inwards). I am also congenitally missing two teeth on my lowers. My oh-so-tactful dentist once told me, "A lot of people whose teeth are much better than yours get braces." Since my parents could never afford to get me braces when I was in high school, I basically learned to accept my teeth...despite the self-consciousness I still feel when I go to a job interview or meet new people for the first time. Some of my friends have actually told me that they think my teeth are "cute" and a cool part of my smile, I shouldn't change a thing.