Best type of dental care

Love your electric toothbrush? Hate that yucky mouthwash? Can't live without that terrific threader floss? Got a fave canker sore remedy? Here's where you can post your opinions and reviews of specific products relating to dental hygiene and your braces. Tell others what works....and what doesn't!

Moderator: bbsadmin

taylorhl25

Best type of dental care

#1 Post by taylorhl25 »

I am having my braces fitted in 4 weeks (Damon's on upper and lower), I currently use a manual toothbrush but want to start getting teeth all nice and ready for 27th February. Am I best to keep on with my manual or would an electric be better, i so any recommendations (I am from the UK).

Also is mouthwash best to use and what type of toothpaste. . . sorry for all the questions but I am new to all this ! :P :P

Betty Bat

#2 Post by Betty Bat »

This is akin to asking, "what's a better pet - a dog or a cat?" There's no right answer for this, but there are a lot of opinions.

For the record, I have a Sonicare 7300 which I love! I also use a manual, ortho-cut Oral-B toothbrush. Sonicare in the morning and after dinner, manual at lunch and bedtime. Strangely enough, I have been getting the ortho-cut brushes from my regular dentist, not from my ortho. I use Oral-B proxy brushes (which I also get from my regular dentist) and Oral-B Satin floss. I don't use any mouthwashes or rinses on a regular basis.

Here are some tips:
- If you decide to get an electric toothbrush, particularly something like the Sonicare, check out Ebay. The prices are much better.
- No matter what you decide with respect to toothbrushes, remember to use a proxy brush and floss. There's no substitute for these. A toothbrush just can't get into all of the small spaces around your brackets like a proxy brush can. And, flossing is a good habit. It might be difficult to floss for a while (just the mechanics of the process with wires), but stick with it.